Birds Get Bling: J J, A J, and Markakis Win Gold Glove Award.

Sports and Bets — November 4, 2014 at 9:18 pm by

Better squint your eyes looking out onto that diamond next year at Camden Yards. (Don’t worry, Markakis is definitely coming back.)  There’s a lot of gold blinkin’, shimmerin’, and dazzlin’ going on down Eutaw Street way, hon.

Three Orioles were rewarded for defensive excellence this evening.  Adam Jones, Nick Markakis, and JJ Hardy all took home Gold Glove Awards.  It’s the fourth Gold Glove for Jones, the third for Hardy and the second for Markakis.  Hardy and Jones have now won the award three years in a row.


Baltimore as an organization is second in baseball history with 70 total Gold Gloves.  Only St. Louis (85) won has won more.  Brooks Robinson has the most Gold Gloves of any Oriole.  He won the award 16 times, which is just completely obscene.

When Manny Machado and Matt Wieters come back from injury next season, the Birds will have five Gold Glove winners in their starting lineup.  That is also completely obscene.  Machado won the AL Platinum Glove award in 2013, which honors the top overall defensive player in the American League.

This all of course means that the Orioles will win the A.L. East again next season.

Damn, it’s cool to be good at baseball again!  Go, O’s!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *